My First Chemo

I didn’t sleep very well the night before I started chemo. I knew this was my first step in ridding my body completely of cancer. I thought I had prepared myself. I really believed that this was going to be the easier part.
We had to leave for the hospital really early. My Mom and my sister Blaine were coming with me. I hadn’t realized how much going to the Dr’s office gave me anxiety. The week and a half I hadn’t been there was so worry free for me. Going back to the office reality set in. My battle had only just begun.
When the nurse called us back so many things were going through my mind. I was so scared something had went wrong since the last time I had been at the Dr. What if the cancer had already spread? Could cancer even spread that fast?
I never thought I would be so relieved to hear that I was going to have chemo. I needed to first get a shot that would help my white blood count from getting low, and I had to meet with the Dr. They asked me if I could think of any questions I had, and I couldn’t think of any as long as my chemo was going as scheduled I was relieved.
When we got to the cancer center, there were big cozy chairs to sit in, and there were only a couple people there. The one thing I did notice about me, and the other cancer patients was I was the youngest one by a lot of years. The nurses told me they had ordered my drugs, and to find a place that I would be comfortable. I was told I was having an aggressive type of chemo, and each session was going to be about five hours.
I checked my phone, and I had a video message from Kim, it was Jax saying “good luck Margo, bam it, I love you.” It was the courage, and inspiration I needed from my tiny bud Jax. They started my chemo, and the nurse told me one of my drugs was going to burn a little when it went in. A burning sensation I can handle that, that’s not too bad.
The hours went by faster than I thought they would. I became more, and more comfortable as the time went on. Before I knew it I had finished my first chemo. That wasn’t too bad, I can do this. Now it was a waiting game to see how the chemo would affect my body.
The day after my chemo I woke up, and felt like a truck hit me. I took some Tylenol, and figured this isn’t anything I cant handle. Days went on, and while I didn’t feel like myself it wasn’t too awful. The most frustrating part to me was the fact that I wasn’t in control of my body. Some days I woke up, and felt great, then by the time afternoon hit my body was achy, and I was exhausted. I kept wondering how long it would take to see the physical side effects. Would my hair start falling out right away?
After a week went by I started to feel more like myself. I had to let go of the fact that right now I wasn’t going to have much control over my body. It was something I learned to deal with. Cancer treatment is going to take over my body for a couple months, and then hopefully when it is finished I will live a long and healthy life with Derek.

5 thoughts on “My First Chemo

  1. Margo you are amazing, I think of you every day and pray for you every night before I go to sleep. I am so blessed to have you as first a “college friend” and now a forever friend. You will BAM this, heck you already are! P.S. I cannont forget Derek, I am so happy to have him as a friend as well, he too is amazing, its like you two were custom made for one another. xo Leesa & (Bruce)

    • Thank you so much Leesa for all your sweet comments. I am so glad that we have become friends too, I cant wait till we get together! I promise that it will happen soon! xoxo

  2. Margo;
    It has been years since we have spoken and i just heard of your blog. I wish you well and if you ever need anything i want you to call me! You look beautiful in your dress and I wish you and Derek the BEST!
    Bob Fried

  3. Margo, I just saw the episode of you on “say yes to the dress ” I heard the awful news that you are no longer here with us.. While I was watching it I was praying that you would be ok and overcome this aweful sickness, then at the end of the show they showed you passed on … I was so sad !!! You were so beautiful and sweet..May you rest In peace ! My condolences to your family.

Leave a comment